Posted by: Bad News Banker | October 30, 2010

Trey Rood: HERO

Last year, I mentioned that my employer, The Peoples Bank has a program entitled simply as HEROES (Helping Everyone Reach Out & Serve Everyday) . Each employee is given $100 to spend on any organization or cause that the employee deems necessary. Last year, my $100 was given to the DKMS in honor of Griffin Billings.  Here is my blog about Griffin:

https://badnewsbanker.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/save-griffin/

This year, I waited for that moment that I felt that I could make a difference.  You don’t know when or how that moment will come, but it just comes to you. Just like the way Griffin touched me last year.

This year,  a customer of the bank came to me and asked for the bank’s sponsorship in a bass fishing tournament.  As I normally do, I told him that it’s not my decision of how, when, or where the bank spends its sponsorship dollars.  I did inform the customer that this particular year was very hard on the bank and it’s highly unlikely that the  bank would sponsor the tournament.

On this particular day, the customer was not giving up. He further informed me that all the proceeds from the tournament would benefit a young man named Trey Rood.  I inquired about Trey and asked him to tell me a little more.  He directed me to Trey’s website (http://www.prayfortrey.org/) and it was there that I learned about this amazing young man.

As I expected, the bank declined the request for the sponsorship but I knew that my $100 was going to Trey.  Furthermore, I knew that $100 was not enough to make a significant impact on the tournament, so I sent an “All Employees” e-mail asking for assistance from the other employees of the bank.  I received total pledges of $600 from employees, and we were able to purchase a special door prize for a special raffle at the tournament.  In all, the event raised approximately $2,000 for Trey.

I was fortunate enough to meet Trey and his father. They were both very grateful for the bank’s HEROES program and the employee’s support.  One of Trey’s favorite recreational activities is bass fishing.  He did catch some fish that day and had a great time.

From all appearances, Trey is progressing with his treatment, and receiving great news as he continues to battle Stage IV Melanoma.

Charlie Rood-Trey Rood-Me

Trey is now a Freshman at UGA but has journeyed to Houston, Texas for treatments.  He has battled through a lot of dark moments but has received a tremendous amount of support from his high school friends and his local community.  I will leave you with an article that describes the amazing, Trey Rood.  The link to the AJC article is as follows:

http://www.prayfortrey.org/Forms/2010-06-13_AJC.pdf

Also, you can follow him on Facebook.  I know Trey is thankful for all of the support and prayers, but I would like to thank him for keeping me grounded and most importantly keeping my life in perspective.


Responses

  1. I love this. I remember you doing that! You just got another jewel on your crown Leslie Lew!

    • Thank you. It was very rewarding and everyone was so appreciative of our support.


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.