Posted by: Bad News Banker | November 9, 2011

You Know What I Mean, Vern?

About an hour ago, I read the most recent article in the Walton Tribune about  my friend Vernon Temple.  I was saddened when I realized that his death was ruled a suicide.  As awful as a suicide my sound and the perception that goes along with it, the news does not change my memories of Vernon.  You know what I mean, Vern?

Jim Varney, the famous actor who brought the character, Ernest to life, coined the phrase,  “You Know What I Mean, Vern?”  In 2000, Jim Varney tragically died of lung cancer at the young age of 51.  Unfortunately, he was a heavy smoker.  Jim Varney was an advocate for kids and was very active in children’s charities. Jim appeared in many children’s films such as “Ernest Goes to Camp”, and my favorite role as the voice of Slinky the Dog in the first two Toy Story animated films.

Vernon’s life and Jim Varney’s life are similar in many respects.  Both died young.  Both died tragically. Both were advocates for children.  I know Vernon left behind his two children and impressions on many other children in the Walton County recreation leagues.  I worry about what the other children might think of his suicide and the underlying message that it might send to them.  I pray that the Walton County Community remembers all of his good works, giant smile, ginormous laugh, and huge heart.  Please do not let the last few weeks of his life define his entire lifetime. “You know what I mean, Vern?”


Responses

  1. […] Long Big Zesty (189 hits) You Know What I Mean, Vern? (183) Some Golfers are Jerks (166) Travel Baseball (159) A Sweet Lady Meets a Bitter End (137) […]


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.