Posted by: Bad News Banker | December 1, 2013

Making Memories

Tech Hate 2It was a night to remember but it did not start out that way. Georgia Tech jumped out to a 17-0 lead and the Tech fans that surrounded us were relentless. One Tech fan said, “We don’t have a snowball’s chance but we’re going to enjoy it while it lasts!” I found that statement very odd, because Georgia looked defeated and Tech had all the answers. Another Tech fan said, “We’ve been here before and we get disappointed every time.” Other phrases included, “F**k Georgia” and “God…get your cousin out of your mouth.”  My favorite, “All Georgia fans are cross bred, ” said one father to his teenage son.”

When Georgia scored the touchdown before halftime, I felt pretty good about our chances in the second half. When Gurley’s touchdown was called back early in the 3rd quarter, and had to settle for a field goal, I was a little deflated but still hopeful. The Michael Bennett touchdown to narrow Tech’s lead to 20-17 was a huge lift to the Georgia faithful.  My brother’s text message was simply, “boom” when Tech’s Smelter caught Lee’s pass to give Tech the 27-17 lead.  That hurt.  Georgia marched right back and it became the Todd Gurley show.  The big 4th down and 6 conversion with 9:27 remaining in the game was the turning point.  If Georgia fails to convert, it’s basically game over. Todd Gurley’s touchdown with 6:37 remaining to pull Georgia within 3 had the Georgia faithful rising to their feet.

Georgia’s defense showed me something Saturday night.  They’ve taken a lot of blame for Georgia’s woes this season but they played hard-nosed and fast.  They made the big stops, big plays, and big hits when it was needed most. Todd Gurley owned the overtime and I believe he will be a front runner for the Heisman next season.  Mason, Bennett, Lynch, and Conley had huge nights on the offensive side of the ball.

When Tech’s Vad Lee launched his 2nd down pass with 5:50 remaining, I was screaming at Quincy Mauger, “turn around, turn around!”,  and like a missile, Josh Harvey Clemons jumped in front of the receiver for the interception.  The few Georgia fans in our section were going crazy.  I high fived my son, wife, daughter, and the Georgia fan to my right.

Here is what I will forever remember.  This was the first game that my son and daughter attended in Bobby Dodd stadium. It was the second overtime game in the 108 Georgia/Georgia Tech rivalry.  It was the fourth highest point total and it was the 11th game out of the last 20 to be settled by less than 8 points. Georgia has won 5 straight, 12 out of the last 13, and 7 straight at Georgia Tech’s Grant Field / Bobby Dodd Stadium.  Georgia extended its series lead to 64-39-5.  The entire night was made possible by a business contact’s simple act of kindness.  The club level tickets were given to me for my family to enjoy.  It’s one of the nicest things anyone has done for my family in a long time. I am grateful and blessed beyond measure.  Go Dawgs!


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.