Posted by: Bad News Banker | June 27, 2014

Let’s Rock ‘N’ Roll

November 8, 2014. That is the date of the Rock ‘N’ Roll Marathon in Savannah. I’m signed up and started my first official training run on Monday. Can you believe it’s less than 20 weeks away?

I am using the same 20 week training plan that I used for the Georgia Publix Marathon in March with a few tweaks or modifications to the plan. My goal is to finally break the 4 hour mark. My current PR is 4 hours, 6 minutes, and some change.

Participants who have run the marathon tell me that it’s relatively flat course with a few minor hills which means faster times. However, that statement does not mean that I can’t train any less.

The only difficult part of training for a Fall marathon is UGA football. My long runs are typically on Saturday and as you know, UGA football games are on Saturday. The only problem this presents is my volunteering with the Red Cross during the home games. It makes for a long, tiring day.

UGA football is only 65 days away. That’s just over 2 months away, and it can’t get here soon enough. I’m expecting a big season from the Dawgs. Go Dawgs and let’s Rock ‘N’ Roll.


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.