Posted by: Bad News Banker | July 26, 2014

Unwritten

NatashaiTunes gift cards are like the best birthday presents ever! I made that known just before my birthday on June 10, and magically several iTunes gift cards made their way into my birthday cards. In anticipation of these cards, I downloaded the Shazam App on my iphone and started cataloging songs that I wanted to download from iTunes.

Looking back now, it’s pretty funny to see the songs that I’ve downloaded from iTunes. This time, the song, “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield made it’s way into my iTunes account along with 15 other songs.  But this one song by Ms. Natasha keeps coming back to me time and time again.

This song is about living life to the fullest. Each day is a blank page and it is up to you to fill it.  This song conveys the idea of keeping our eyes open for all the possibilities in our life.  Unwritten was released in November 2004 and reached number 5 on the pop billboard charts.  In 2006, it was the most played song in the U.S. and was certified platinum. It garnered Natasha a Grammy nomination as well.  Where have I been?

There are several of my Facebook friends that are battling cancer and two others recently passed away.  The lyrics of the song remind me that today is the first day of the rest of my life.  My favorite lines of the song are:  Live your life with arms wide open; Today is where your book begins; The rest is still unwritten; Feel the rain on your skin; No one else can feel it for you; Only you can let it in; No one else, no one else, Can speak the words on your lips; Drench yourself in words unspoken; Live your life with arms wide open.

For my cancer battling friends…..this blog is for you.  Today is where your book begins.

 

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.