Posted by: Bad News Banker | July 30, 2014

God Awful Disease

Over the past few days, cancer has reared its ugly head.  Many of my friends are battling this God awful disease.  It wasn’t until I started scanning Facebook that I fully understood the number of friends battling cancer and the magnitude of this disease. I do not pretend to have the answers or even begin to think that I know what my friends are going through.  All I can say is that each and every one of you are my heroes.  My daily battles seem miniscule to the fights you are fighting every single day.

I stumbled across this quote from Lance Armstrong.  The quote sets the stage for my upcoming video.  “If children have the ability to ignore all odds and percentages, then maybe we can all learn from them. When you think about it, what other choice is there but to hope? We have two options, medically and emotionally: give up, or fight like hell.”  ~Lance Armstrong

To all of my cancer battling friends: Keep fighting the fight.  It’ll be okay, maybe not today but that’s okay….this too shall pass my friend.  Cancer is a word and not a sentence.

Any time that I’m feeling down or feel like my problems are a problem, I go to YouTube and watch this video. If this video does not inspire you or make you believe that you’ve got it pretty good right now, then something is not right within you.  This video gives you some awesome insight to the great care kids receive at AFLAC’s Cancer Center at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta.  If you haven’t seen it, please take a few minutes to watch it.  It’s very upbeat and inspiring.  Enjoy.

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.