Posted by: Bad News Banker | August 19, 2014

Dealing with Mortality

Death.  The Social Security Administration Actuarial Life Table says that a 45-year old male has a 0.3% chance of dying this year.  My life expectancy is 78.82 years, and 5.3% of the males born in the same year as me have already died.  Okay. That’s good to know.  Right?  Why this blog post tonight?  You were having a great night planning your ALS Ice Bucket Challenge and I just sapped all of your positive thoughts and energy.  Thanks, Earl. Sorry.

Saturday morning, I get the phone call.  Earl, I have some bad news to share with you.  The bad news was about a coworker who suddenly passed away from an apparent heart attack.  He was at home on Friday night with his wife and did not make it up the steps to his front porch.  He would have turned 66 in November, and left behind a wife of 48 years, 2 sons, and 4 granddaughters.  Obviously, the family was devastated. It was pitiful watching the granddaughters as they entered the chapel during the memorial service on Monday morning.  They were very close to their grandfather as they were mentioned numerous times during the service.

No.  I do not have a fear of death or Thanatophobia but I have thought about my own mortality a little more today.  Yes, I have all of the necessary life insurance, etc., but what else will I leave behind besides some life insurance and social security benefits.  After some reading, research, and reflecting on it a little more, here is what I concluded:

1) You will be remembered on earth and your memories will not disappear.  Your memories will stay in the hearts of the people you love.  So love more and often.

2) Don’t waste your life worrying.  Especially about your own death and the death of others.  Fill each day with as much joy as possible. Don’t let the little things get you down.  There is a bible verse that I’m paraphrasing because I could not locate it, but it says something like this:  There are enough worries today, so we shouldn’t get worried about tomorrow.

3) It has been shown that optimists are less likely to contract heart disease or cancer than pessimists.  If you think negatively about the future, you are likely to die sooner.

4)  Mark Twain said, “The fear of death follows from the fear of life.  A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time.

Bill Fallaw 1948 - 2014   Damn Good Dawg &         Syrupmaker!

Bill Fallaw 1948 – 2014
Damn Good Dawg &
Syrupmaker!

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.