Posted by: Bad News Banker | July 23, 2015

Letters From Parris Island

Letter's BlakeIf you want copies of my notes from my Parenting 101 Class, please spare yourself the trouble.  Fairly recently, my class average has dropped significantly.  It appears that I’m hovering around a pass/fail grade of 69.50.

As some of you may know, my son left for Marine Corps basic training on July 6, 2015.  He was a pretty determined young man and expressed many times that this was the path he wanted to take.  In fact, before he turned 18, he wanted his mom and I to sign his early enlistment papers to which we graciously said, “hell no.”  On his 18th birthday (July 15, 2014) he signed his own enlistment papers into the United States Marine Corps.

On Saturday afternoon, July 18, 2015 we received our first handwritten letters from our son.  I can’t tell you the excitement and the anticipation that my wife and I were feeling as we tore open the letters.  All of the positive emotions suddenly changed on a dime when we realized that he was extremely homesick and was questioning his enlistment decision.  Basically, in a nutshell, he wanted out.

It’s at that moment when you realize the fact that maybe I was not tough enough as a father.  I let my son quit too many times when I should have picked him up and forced him to honor and complete his commitments.  I made him soft and created an environment where quitting was accepted and tolerated.

His recruiter simply stated that there is nothing that a parent or any individual can do for that matter to prepare a Marine Recruit for basic training.  They have to live it, experience it, endure it, and survive it.  With that being said, my response to my son was something like this in the opening line:  Dear son, you are homesick.  Good.  You are questioning your decision.  Good.  Welcome to adulthood.


Responses

  1. I am guessing, because I have not served my country in this way, but…

    I suspect that a Marine who knows what it means to miss “home” is one that will always be able to remember what it is that he is defending / protecting / enabling. He is not questioning because he is soft, he is questioning because at 18 you really do NOT know everything.

    I suspect that your Parenting 101 grade is much higher than you think. People are supposed to miss their mama and dear old dad when someone is making their life hell. If that is “soft” I hope my kids are just as soft one day.

    Good Job Earl.

  2. Thank you.. Thank you to your son. For he has made the choice that will lead him to a long life commitment to honor and protect this beautiful country we call home.
    A Marine in the making. A young man becoming a man among men. I can only imagine the pride you and your family feel for him right now. What an honor it is to meet one, I can’t imagine the honor one feels to have raised one. They protect our freedom day and night. A Marine brings with them.. relief and hope of a better tomorrow. To our country and to countries around the world. How many times has a young child heard.. ” Don’t worry, it’s going to be okay, the United States Marine’s will be here soon.” Instant relief sets in after those words are spoken.

    So Earl and family, don’t you worry, your Marine will be home soon!

  3. Chris and Alex, thank you for your kind words. They mean more than you will ever know. I never knew that being a Marine Dad would be such an emotional roller coaster….and it’s been less than a month that he’s been away. He’s just at basic training so I can’t even begin to imagine what it will feel like if/when he get’s deployed.

  4. As both the mother and sister of a Marine, I can tell you that every recruit wants out of Parris Island. Believe me, this sounds crazy, but you and your wife will be more proud of your son on the day he graduates from Marine recruit training at Parris Island than you were the day he was born. I guarantee it.


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.