Posted by: Bad News Banker | December 5, 2015

The GRicht that Stole Christmas

Greg McGarity PixGreg McGarity is the grinch that has stolen my Christmas. On Sunday, November 29, 2015, the University of Georgia parted ways with its most successful football coach of all-time (in terms of winning percentage).  Let’s get that straight because everyone is throwing all of these records and statistics against Top 10 opponents, all-time victories, lack of championships as their reason to fire its 15-year coach. I’ve heard it all and it disgusts me.

Although I have never been directly impacted by Coach Mark Richt’s mentoring and leadership, I can tell you he has indirectly impacted my life and family in more ways than I ever thought possible.  Here’s how.

First, I felt the sentiment shortly after the news broke when my son sent me a text from California, “Dad, did Mark Richt really get fired?”  My response, “Yes.  I think so.”  My son, “Wow.”   Mark Richt came to UGA in January 2001.  My son was 4 years old.  He does not know Donnan, Dooley, Goff, or even Butts.  Coach Richt is his coach.  It’s all he has known.  A follow-up phone call with my son generated the question as to why Coach Richt was fired.  I told him that McGarity said the reason is between him and Richt but it boils down to not winning a championship in 15-years, son.  My son’s response was a dejected, “whatever.”

Secondly, I felt the sentiment start resonating within me when I heard what Coach Nick Saban said when he heard the news of Coach Richt, “I don’t know what the world’s coming to in our profession.”  Once again, Coach Saban is exactly right.  What were we told as kids? It’s not whether you win or lose but how you play the game. Really?  Is that true today?

Next, I got the big lump in my throat when I heard Coach Fox’s postgame interview after the Oakland basketball game.  If you have not seen the interview, here it is:  https://t.co/F4sHzr4pWt.  My takeaway or quote from the interview came from Coach Fox when he quoted Coach Richt, “We all have feelings, but there is a proper way to act.  Coach Richt made me a better man.”  Translation, “I really want to tell you how I feel about Coach Richt’s firing, but I am going to be the better man instead.”

My daughter is a senior at UGA and will graduate in May.  Coach Richt is her coach too.  It’s all she’s known.  Four years ago today, she and I were sitting in the Georgia Dome watching Georgia play LSU for the SEC Championship.  She was sad when Coach Richt was fired.  It wasn’t about winning championships to her.  It was commit to the G.  The Georgia Way.  Get your education at one of the finest institutions in the country. To her, college football is Georgia football.  The her, Georgia football is Coach Richt.  The Coach Richt way.  The right way, win or lose.  Seeing Coach Richt make the U sign, in essence broke her heart and broke mine too.

When Coach Richt addressed the team on Thursday, he said “Life is about people, not rings.  Rings collect dust.”  I know this statement did not sit well with a lot of Georgia fans but it really hit home with me.  I was in Jacksonville and watched Georgia lay another egg. I sat in the rain at the Alabama game too. I wanted to win those games just about as bad as anyone.  For what, so we could win a SEC championship?  We?  Me? I’m just a fan, I can’t win the game.  Maybe Kirby Smart will be a good hire.  Maybe he can win those games.  He could possibly win a National Championship.  But Kirby Smart and Georgia winning a national championship, to me, will be like Jeff Gordon running over his stepfather as he crosses the finish line.

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.