Posted by: Bad News Banker | May 12, 2016

A Damn Good Dawg

Brandi Wise (Center) with Mamma and Daddy Dawg

At the end of the movie, Ferris Bueller (Matthew Broderick) said it  best, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

Today was the day that I looked around and noticed that my daughter is graduating from the University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism.  Man oh man, time flies. It just seems like yesterday it was that hot summer day in August 2012 when we moved her into her freshman dorm.

My baby girl is not a baby girl any longer. It seems like yesterday when I was reading bedtime stories to her. In fact, Harry Potter stories which were the beginning of the beautiful, imaginative, and creative mind she possesses.

I remember that December 1995 day like it was yesterday. The day that we watched Toy Story for the first time.  Where has the time gone?

Tomorrow, it’s off to Sanford Stadium for the final commencement.  I’m proud of my baby girl and her momma is proud too! But what would Ferris Bueller say at the end? He would say, “You’re still here?  It’s over. Go home. Go!”


Responses

  1. congrats to your you and your wife for your support of your daughter and the commitment it takes to run a family. I pray for many happy days for your daughter, and God Bless you Ben and your wife. Marty Perez


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.