Posted by: Bad News Banker | July 16, 2016

Stick to What You Know Best

In my 25-year banking career, I’ve met a lot of people. I’ve heard it all…or so I thought. I met a gentlemen who was interested in starting a business.  After reading his business plan, I asked a question that struck chord.  My question centered around his past experience and did the new business fall in line with his current skill set or expertise.  I felt the new business was going to be part-time gig or perhaps worse, a hobby.  What he said next, I will never forget.

business meetingHe said, let me tell you a story….A former business partner of mine managed a multi-million dollar charitable trust.  He had a corporate attorney that worked with him that he described as an honest, Christian man.  His relationship with the attorney spanned 20 plus years and he was excellent at what he did.  One day, the attorney contacted my partner and said that he had been called into the ministry.  His partner said, “Are you sure this what you want to do?  God has many pastors and priests, but what he doesn’t have is a multitude of honest, Christian attorneys.”

The attorney went on to seminary school and soon after was a pastor of a large, Lutheran church.  A year later, the pastor had an affair with a member of the congregation and sadly committed suicide.  His point was that God has you doing exactly what you should be doing.  The attorney was affecting so many lives with his work with the charitable trust but for whatever reason decided his talents could be used elsewhere.  He had a rare gift.

My business prospect concluded by saying, “this new business opportunity is exactly what I’ve done in the past and it’s what I do best.”

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories

Running to the Start Line

my journey to my first half-marathon

Running for Autism

A Mom's quest to run a half-marathon to raise funds for autism

Running On Empty

A site for beginning runners

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.